Comics & Zines Kawaii Reviews

The Doll Scene Book Review

Posted on September 23, 2014 by

I recently picked up a copy of The Doll Scene by Louis Bou. This book is perfect for fans of Blythe, Pullip, Monster High and other ball jointed dolls. Even if you are not a doll collector or doll hobbyist the book is full of cute images, outfit inspiration and cute crafty skills.

the doll scene

A hefty little book at 256 pages, mostly photos and a few artist bios, you get tons of eye candy. Colorful, unique and super cute dolls range from stylized clothing to colorful wigs and fun accessories. Each artist is able to transform their doll subject into more than just plastic; they give them a style and vibe that is one of a kind. You will not look at dolls the same way again.

You Might Also Like...

4 Comments

  • Reply
    Nimz
    September 23, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    oh yeah~ i’ve been planning on buying this book for some time now!! (need to wait for money hehe)

  • Reply
    Matt
    September 24, 2014 at 2:34 am

    I know she wants to bring to light the darker art of kawaii. I hope she’s given the opportunity to do that. And she’s vegan too!

  • Reply
    melanie
    September 24, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Great post. I love book recommendations and have ordered this one right away

  • Reply
    Kelsea echo
    September 27, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    Oh wow I want this book! Is the doll on the front. Caramelaw’s work? I’m doing an interview with her on my blog this week and it reminds me of her style! Totally want this book!

Leave a Reply

Checking you're not a spambot! (If you get an error, press the arrows to reset) * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.