Comics & Zines, Kawaii Reviews

Guest Post: The Doll Scene Book Review

Posted on September 23, 2014 by

This is a guest post by Miss Muffcake, who’s on the shortlist to become one of SCK’s new writers. Have a read and tell us what you think!

the doll scene

I recently picked up a copy of The Doll Scene by Louis Bou. This book is perfect for fans of Blythe, Pullip, Monster High and other ball jointed dolls. Even if you are not a doll collector or doll hobbyist the book is full of cute images, outfit inspiration and cute crafty skills.

A hefty little book at 256 pages, mostly photos and a few artist bios, you get tons of eye candy. Colorful, unique and super cute dolls range from stylized clothing to colorful wigs and fun accessories. Each artist is able to transform their doll subject into more than just plastic; they give them a style and vibe that is one of a kind. You will not look at dolls the same way again.

* * *

We’d like your input as we choose new writers so please leave a comment if you’d like to see more posts like this, or if it’s not your cup of tea (but please be nice!). This is our last applicant – we’ll be posting another 1 or 2 posts by each writer over the next few weeks so look out for your favourites and give them some love!

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

13 Comments

  • Reply Nimz September 23, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    oh yeah~ i’ve been planning on buying this book for some time now!! (need to wait for money hehe)

  • Reply Kiki September 23, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    I am looking forward to getting my hands on this book.
    And as a fan of MissMuffinCake, I am glad to see her here!

  • Reply Kari September 23, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    I won’t look at dolls the same way again? Ooh, I am intrigued!

  • Reply Brenda David September 24, 2014 at 12:17 am

    Miss Muffcake has a fun and to the point writing style.
    Love dolls and style. Will have to purchase the book now.

  • Reply Matt September 24, 2014 at 2:34 am

    I know she wants to bring to light the darker art of kawaii. I hope she’s given the opportunity to do that. And she’s vegan too!

  • Reply melanie September 24, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Great post. I love book recommendations and have ordered this one right away

  • Reply Deirdree Prudence September 25, 2014 at 5:20 pm

    Such a cute book! I’ve never heard of it but as a huge doll – & Blythe – enthusiast, I think I must check this out! What a great post as well – bring on the Miss Muffcake! My vote is with her! xo

  • Reply Sage September 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

    Love this! Yes, please. We want more Miss Muffcake.

  • Reply Marcy J September 25, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    This looks like such a cute book- worth it for the cover art alone! Thank you MissMuffcake for bringing this to our attention!

  • Reply karen w.w. September 26, 2014 at 4:40 am

    This fun little recommendation makes me want this book…do love dolls! …..Miss Muffcake’s fab write up…will look forward to more of her scribbles…I vote big fat yes to Miss Muffcake!

  • Reply Rachel September 26, 2014 at 6:16 am

    Too cool! Love MissMuffcake! I hope she becomes a permanent addition!

  • Reply Kelsea echo September 27, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    Oh wow I want this book! Is the doll on the front. Caramelaw’s work? I’m doing an interview with her on my blog this week and it reminds me of her style! Totally want this book!

  • Reply TC October 3, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book, but this review is pretty generic…

  • Leave a Reply

    Checking you're not a spambot! (If you get an error, press the arrows to reset) * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.